Enhancing Safety of Vulnerable Road Uses: Smartphone-Centered Approaches

Ming Li

Dr. Ming Li

Associate Professor
The University of Texas at Arlington

Dr. Ming Li is an associate professor with the Computer Science and Engineering Department of the University of Texas at Arlington. Her research interests are in the general area of mobile computing and human-centered computing, with the focus on their novel applications in networking(e.g., crowdsensing/crowdsourcing, QoE assessment, resource optimization), smart city(e.g., mobility enhancement), andsecurity and privacy(e.g., user-centered security, privacy-aware computing). Dr. Li explores those research topics with approaches within the core computer science and engineering discipline, including systems, signal processing, optimizations, and artificial intelligence, and with the principles across disciplines, including physiology and economics. She obtained her Ph.D. from the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at Mississippi State University. Her research has been funded by NSF, DoT and NIH. She is a recipient of the NSF CRII Award(2016) and NSF CAREER Award(2020).

Multimodal Robot Perception and Interaction

Petros Maragos

Petros Maragos

School of E.C.E., National Technical University of Athens, Greece
Robotics Research Unit, Athena Research Center, Greece

Dr. Petros Maragos received his Ph.D. degree from Georgia Tech, Atlanta, in 1985. Then, he joined the faculty of the Division of Applied Sciences at Harvard University, where he worked for eight years as professor of EE affiliated with the Harvard Robotics Lab. In 1993 he joined the faculty of the School of ECE at Georgia Tech, affiliated with its Center for Signal & Image Processing. Since 1999, he has been working as professor at the NTUA, where he is currently the director of the Intelligent Robotics & Automation Lab. He is also the coordinator of a robotics research unit at the Athena Research & Innovation Center. His research and teaching interests include signal processing, machine learning, computer vision & speech, and robotics. He is the recipient of several awards for his academic work. He was elected a Fellow of IEEE in 1995 and a Fellow of EURASIP in 2010 for his research contributions. He has served as IEEE SPS Distinguished Lecturer for 2017-2018.